Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Chapin Hall Web Conference: Dads in the Mix

Chapin Hall Web Conference:
Dads in the Mix: The Future of Responsible Fatherhood Initiatives

March 19, 2008
Web Conference
1 pm ET / 12 pm CT / 11 am MT / 10 am PT

Register Online at:

Almost 25 million children in the U.S. are growing up in families without a
father present, a number roughly two-and-half times higher than four
decades ago. A growing body of research documents ways children benefit
when they have engaged fathers, including better school performance,
reduced substance abuse, less crime and delinquency, fewer emotional and
other behavioral problems, and less risk of abuse or neglect. Federal
initiatives have helped states create a broad array of programs that
actively engage fathers in the lives of their families.

This web conference will analyze fatherhood research and programming as
part of a broader movement to strengthen families. Panelists will also
discuss promising strategies that some states are implementing to increase
father involvement, and the potential for expanding and improving programs
as new and continuing funding sources become available.

* Robert Johnson, National Fatherhood Leaders Group
* Matthew Stagner, Chapin Hall Center for Children at the University of
* Gardner Wiseheart, Healthy Families San Angelo
* Moderator: Patrick Boyle, Youth Today

The web conference is free and space is limited. If multiple people in your
office want to participate, please have only one person register and your
group can view the web conference together.

To join the web conference, you need a computer with an Internet
connection. You can listen to the conference by telephone or over the

A recording of the web conference will be posted on the Chapin Hall Web
site for those who cannot attend the live event.

Erika Layko
Meeting and Events Planner
Center for Child and Family Policy
Sanford Institute of Public Policy, Duke University
Phone: 919.613.9350

No comments: